RIP Mike Wieringo

I was absolutely floored yesterday morning at the news of Mike Wieringo’s passing. He was 44.
Ringo had become one of my favorite artists, ever since his and Mark Waid’s run on Fantastic Four a few years ago (easily the best FF stories I’ve ever read). He was, by all accounts, a really great guy, and his love of cartooning and comic book art was infectious through his blog, which I visited regularly. The industry really needed more like him. I’m looking forward to buying the massive Tellos hardcover and sharing his storytelling with my future children.

I couldn’t really pick a favorite piece of his to post, so I’ll post this one of a character he called the Saturn Kid. He had lots of ideas for comics that he just never had time to do, and we’ve all been robbed of the chance to ever see them.