National Novel Writing Month

We’re just a few weeks away from this year’s NaNo. For those of you unfamiliar with the event, thousands of people across the country (world?) get together and brow beat each other for the entire month of November to write a new 50,000-word book by the end of the month. It is insane! We have little spreadsheets to chart our progress and everything. Last year I threw myself into it rather at the last minute. I started off strong, but soon stalled out and ended the month with something like 10-12,000 words. And even that was a mess.

I have a simpler story idea this time, and over the next few weeks I’ll be attempting to come up with an outline. When you’re trying to pump out a couple thousand words a day there’s not really time to stop and think about your story.

Unless I come up with something different, I’ll be writing about the protagonist of “Daughter” and his quest to find his lost daughter in a land overrun with the undead. The time is now, and the setting is here, so there won’t be much in the way of world building necessary. I can jump right in with the story. If anyone has a Texas locale you want to see overrun with zombies or other horrors, let me know. 🙂

I have no idea why I’ve been on such a horror kick lately.

The upside of this for you, my gentle readers, is that, in theory, I should be posting something here every day. Each evening, perhaps, or morning, I’ll post a few hundred words of what I’m writing. It’ll probably be out of context and make no sense, but it will be something to read nonetheless. Also, there’s a strong chance it will be crap. When it comes to NaNo, quantity beats out quality.

If you’re a writer and joining in on the NaNo craziness, feel free to add my as a buddy. I go by flakbait.

3 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month”

  1. Hahaha, I might think about joining in. My writing is pretty bad, so it makes for a good excuse. Do you sign up somewhere or what?

  2. You just go to http://www.nanowrimo.org/ and somewhere at the top right you’ll see a link that says “Join up!” At the end of the month you upload your document to their online word counter and it’ll confirm that you made your goal. You don’t really win anything, but you’ll have a long, crappy book by the end of it. 🙂

    It comes out to almost 1700 words per day. It’s crazy!

  3. I’ve always wanted to participate in NaNo…but since I’m in school with a ton of writing already, I guess it’ll have to wait another year. Can’t wait to read your stuff!

Comments are closed.