Texas Book Festival

I discovered that one of my favorite writers, Sherman Alexie, will be at the Texas Book Festival in Austin next weekend. That makes it time for a road trip! As a bonus, The Onion will also be there. (Can we elect a ruling council of Jon Stewart, Stephen Colbert, and The Onion for president? I smell a write-in campaign coming on. Based on what I’ve seen in the news lately, we could elect an actual onion and be better off than with the knuckleheads running for leadership. But I digress, as usual.)

I discovered Alexie years ago when I was forced to read his second novel, Indian Killer, for a class. Turned out to be a fantastic book. There’s a structure to the book and certain themes about the characters that reminded me strongly of comic books, and when I brought up the possibility to my teacher she was a bit mystified at first. But the presence of a character, a little boy, in the book wearing Daredevil pajamas was enough to get my “out of the box” cylinders firing (anything involving Daredevil fires my cylinders, but that’s a whole other post). We worked on it a bit together and ended up coming up with (I believe) a completely new interpretation of the novel. We were supposed to co-author a paper about it, but it fell through when she left the university unexpectedly. Actually, I think she still has my copies of the first Astro City and Preacher trades, heh.

Anyway, I highly recommend any of his books. Also, the film Smoke Signals was based on his work and worth a view. I haven’t had a chance to see The Business of Fancydancing yet.

It feels odd to be so pasty and be such a big fan of an American Indian’s work.

Update: I have discovered that the hardcover version of Indian Killer is out of print. O cruel fate! My battered paperback is a poor offering for an autograph. I’ll have to hit up the used bookstores this week and see if I can find one.

2 thoughts on “Texas Book Festival”

  1. I may have to check it out, I haven’t read any of his stuff.
    And it must be that 1/16 Indian blood in you. 😉 I feel the same way sometimes.

  2. His short story collection, The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven (my vote for best title ever) is probably the best place to start.

Comments are closed.