Half-Price Books Made of Win

I picked up a few books yesterday, seeking to satisfy the gap of sci fi I’ve had of late (and only spent 14 of your earth dollars).

Angelmass by Timothy Zahn. Been a fan of his for a long time, so it’s usually a pretty safe bet I’ll like this.

The Dispossessed by Ursala K LeGuin. Another author I’m a big fan of, though I haven’t really read any of her science fiction before. But I enjoyed the Earthsea trilogy and her short story “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas” is a classic.

Semper Mars by Ian Douglas. I actually wanted to start reading the Honor Harrington series by David Webber, but they didn’t have the first book. So wandering around I came across this, which looked fun. Space marines!

I also picked up the first DMZ trade for cheap. Great stuff.

Edit: Oh, yeah, yesterday I watched the animated adaptation of Darwyn Cooke’s DC: The New Frontier (movie is titled Justice League: New Frontier) online. Freaking awesome. I used to hold Batman: Mask of the Phantasm as the greatest comic book-to-film adaptation, but this might take its place. I’ll definitely be picking up the DVD when it comes out next month. Don’t be fooled by the gorgeous retro art–this is no kids movie.