3:10 to Not Working on What I Should

I seem to be having some trouble getting into my robot noir. Not sure why. I think maybe I’m not getting into the Raymond Chandler I’ve been looking at. I think I’ll switch to the Dashiell Hammett book I’ve got. May be more inspiration there. It’s not that Chandler is bad, but I think Hammett might be a little closer to how I tend to write.

As part of the celebration of “Crush” I received 3:10 to Yuma on DVD. I’d seen it in theaters back when it came out and loved it (even wrote a review of it for the company department newsletter). I loved it even more this time. It’s a fine film in pretty much every regard, and if you haven’t seen it you should do yourself a favor and check it out.

Unfortunately, that plus the fact that I just wrote a flash mystery piece, kind of puts me out of the mood to write the story I’m supposed to working on. Oy. And I just made a mistake of cruising through some space western sites. It’s kind of strange, but when I was a kid I never really could get into westerns. They all sort of looked the same I guess, and it seemed like everyone really needed to take a bath. It probably didn’t help that most westerns are old and a dated. But over the past few years I’ve come to appreciate the genre a lot more. I could probably list High Noon, The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly, and Unforgiven as some of my favorite films. And do I really even need to mention Firefly?

So I have a sneaking suspicion as to what my next story may be.

Now if I can just get back to work on this robot mystery…

One thought on “3:10 to Not Working on What I Should”

  1. My favorite western is probably The Ox-Bow Incident. And as an added bonus, it has Mary Beth Hughes (though her role is all-too-brief).

    Good luck with your robot noir story. I’m trying to write the ending of a sci-fi story that I’m starting to hate. :-\

Comments are closed.