Day 7

You’ll have to take my word for it that I wrote today. I actually am really liking this piece. It’s called (at the moment) “The Parisian” and is about a paratrooper in World War II. I think I’m going to work on this one a bit and if I like how it turns out look around for a place to submit. For that reason, I will not post what I’ve got of it.

I’ll need to do a little research and see if some of my French-speaking friends can help me out with some dialogue.

In case anyone is curious, I have purchased a laptop. It’s an HP and fairly spiffy. It unfortunately does have Vista installed. Tried as I might, I was unable to get around it. So far it’s been fine, though I haven’t been able to load any important software on it. My perfectly good copies of Office XP and Photoshop Elements won’t work on it. Which seems odd to me, as Microsoft has left me with essentially two choices: pirate the newer software or go without, employing instead the perfectly good free stuff that is on the net. I’m not sure who they think the loser in this equation is, but I’m pretty sure it’s not me. At the moment I’m using the free Office trial that came with the machine, but once that expires, I’ll probably just download Open Office. And once I’ve gotten used to Open Office I doubt I’ll ever find cause to go back.

In general, I’d say if anyone was considering switching over to Mac, this is the time. Vista is just as compatible with your old stuff as a Mac (i.e., not at all), so that excuse is gone. There’s really no reason not to switch, at least when it comes to a laptop.

Other than the software issue, I have no real issues with Vista. It’s got some odd little interface things I could do without, but I’ll get used to it. I recall having all the same irritations when XP came out. I have noticed that the OS seems to take a rather unhealthy amount of hard drive space and I’m not even going to bother trying to run any games on here (if they would even be compatible). For my purposes, which are scant, it is working fine. I would hate to have it on my desktop, though.

And it fits perfectly in this nice messenger bag Hope gave me a few years ago. This bag and the laptop together are lighter and easier to carry than my old bag with all the notepads and folders. Overall I’m quite happy with the whole arrangement.

2 thoughts on “Day 7”

  1. Hmm… I have Vista on my laptop and I have played: Crysis, Supreme Commander, Bioshock, Command and Conquer 3, Republic Commando, The Witcher, Oblivion, Half-Life 2, and Portal. So I would say that Vista works just fine for gaming!

Comments are closed.