Distractions

Okay, I got a lot of non-writing writing stuff done last week. Among them was proofing Shades of Red for the next issue of A Thousand Faces. I felt like an idiot, as there were some stupid little mistakes here and there that I hadn’t noticed before I submitted. I had to submit a big list of corrections. I work in publishing, so I know what a pain it can be to have to change things at that stage. It makes me feel amateurish. It also makes Frank Byrns (the editor) a way nice guy for putting up with it all. 🙂 This is, though, my first big published story, and it is a little on the long side. So I guess technically I am an amateur. Either way, it looks like a great issue.

The plus to it all, though, is re-reading the story a couple times has gotten me in the mood to write some more with those characters. I’ve already started fleshing out the Scarlet Ranger’s origin story. I need to work on that some more.

This week should see a return to writing. Virginia in the writing group has been pounding out prompts like there’s no tomorrow. I’ve gotta start catching up.

2 thoughts on “Distractions”

  1. Before “The Talon” my first longer story came out on Arcane Twilight, the editors asked me to make one small clarification. When I looked back at it (it had been a while since I’d read it all the way through), I found more things to correct — all small stuff, like wording tweaks, but still. I sent them a whole revised draft, LOL! Luckily, they didn’t mind.

    I’d love to know the SR’s origin story. She’s a kick-butt heroine! More of her relationship with the Chicago Defender, too, please. 🙂

Comments are closed.