What’s goin’ on

I was pretty busy this weekend and didn’t get anything done. My to do list:

I’ve got a my robot librarian story to send out, I think I’ve put the final tweaks on it. I like the story, but I’m afraid there’s a reference in it that people may not get. I think the story works anyway, but we’ll see.

I’m also planning to send the cake story out again. I might work on it some more. I happen to agree with the editors who’ve already rejected it, so we’ll see if there’s something there to salvage.

I need to revise my Sevastian Dušan story. I love the characters and enjoy the story, but unfortunately have absolutely no clue where I would send it.

I need to catch up on some crits for the writing group, namely Stephanie’s novel. I’m way behind on it!

I feel like I should write some new superhero stories for A Thousand Faces. That’s a publication I should be plugging away at, it’s right up my alley. The problem I’m encountering is that the next superhero story I want to write will likely be a novel about the Scarlet Ranger. But she has plenty of friends and enemies who are deserving of short stories, and anything I write will only help me write the novel later. So I really need to just need to sit down and start doing it.

I really need to get this stuff (at least the first few) done this week. Next week the writing group is having a “Story Every Day” contest, inspired by the little challenge I put myself through a while back. It’s going to be crazy! We’ll be doing it for two weeks, so if everything goes according to plan, I’ll be posting a little chunk of flash every day between the 9th and 22nd. With luck a few will actually be worth trying to sell.

Meanwhile, I’ll be busy trying to keep my eyes away from this thing of absolute beauty that I just received in the mail this weekend.

2 thoughts on “What’s goin’ on”

  1. ATF is right up your alley. 🙂 Maybe some of your SED stories will work there!

    And, speaking of the Sevastian story, I’ve actually noticed more superhero type fiction up at Strange Horizons than I would have thought. Of course, talk about hard to get in there, but it’s worth a try. The last story I read there was about a human former wanna-be superhero trying to save his company from a pair of superhero twins who thought it was owned by a super villain.

  2. For some reason I don’t think of Sevastian as a superhero. He totally is, but when I think of where I’d like to see it on the shelf, it’s more alongside something like the Dresden Files. I wanted to use him to tell magic fantasy stories in a modern age. I’m sure there are lots of markets for that. Magic definitely has its place among superheroes, but it’s usually kind of marginalized, at least compared to science fiction.

Comments are closed.