Serenity Day!

So this weekend is the official Can’t Stop the Serenity weekend, when Browncoats around the world get together and put on charity screenings of Serenity. Everything raised goes to Equality Now, Joss Whedon’s favorite charity. If you’ve never been to one, I highly recommend it. Even if you’re alone, you’ll find yourself among friends.

Tim Minear will be here for the Dallas screening. It will be awesome. This will be my third, and I enjoy myself every time. Last year Jane Espenson attended it with us, and she’s very cool.

I keep promising to talk about The Incredible Hulk, but really, I don’t have that much to say about it. I enjoyed it a great deal, and in general it’s better than the Ang Lee version that came out a few years ago. There are some great action scenes (including the closest thing we’ll probably ever get to a match-up between Captain America and the Hulk), and the drama going on between the action is way more entertaining than it was in the 2003 movie. It’s hard to say if it was as good as Iron Man, simply by virtue of the fact that Tony Stark is by his very nature a charming and likable guy, whereas that Banner fella is always kind of a downer. But overall I’d say it’s pretty close.