Restarting

So at today’s Writer’s Ink meeting I declared that I would have a story ready for the group to crit in just a few weeks. I’d actually hoped to have a story done by the end of this month anyway, but this gives me an actual deadline to motivate me. If nothing else, it gives me something to fail at, a skill for which I’ve had decades of practice.

I’ve decided to return to the story of my android detective, Asta, who was featured in my published story, “Shades of Red,” earlier this year. He’s a fun character, so I’ve been wanting to write about his origins for a while. I crammed in some Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett earlier this year. I have much of the plot worked out in my head already, and there are certain scenes that are burning up my brain wanting to get out.

What I’m mostly worried about is capturing the voice. I tend to have a simple, straightforward writing style, I think. Some would probably say too simple. There’s a particular flourish to that noir style that I’ll be aiming for. We’ll see if I can pull it off. Actually, when I read KC’s “Oh Woman of Easy Virtue” last month at EDF I thought, “Wow, that’s exactly the sound I need.” Maybe if I send KC my notes she can just write it for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

This story will also work perfectly for the group’s cross-genre collection this year, being a sort of sci fi crime story set in the ’30s.

And for the record, Dashiell Hammett is my favorite author name ever.

Title ideas:

The Naked Gear

Atomic Clocks with Dirty Faces

I Was a Fugitive from a Pullys and Levers Gang

The Thin Blue Man

…actually I kind of like that Atomic Clocks one.

3 thoughts on “Restarting”

  1. If you want snarky, Alex, I’m your girl. I believe that’s what Erin labeled the Oh, Woman of Easy Virtue voice. “Snarky”. I liked that when she said it, still do, but it has occurred to me that that voice is so very close to my own. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments are closed.