Wearing pants doesn’t make you weak

Group reaction to Telepath’s Lament was positive. There are a few things I need to fix, but overall I think it’s a pretty solid, fun story. I should have it ready to market by the end of the month. First destination: Writer’s of the Future (I need to check the deadlines, but I believe I have plenty of time to make the current quarter). After it fails there I have some ideas for regular markets where I think it would fit well.

In the meantime, I have a flash piece to write for a new market. I’ve started but I’m not sure I like the beginning.

On the television front, I’m greatly saddened by all the rumors of cancellation swirling around Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles. It’s not a perfect show, but when it’s good it’s really good, and the season finale left us on a hell of a cliffhanger.

I think I’m done with Dollhouse. I suppose it has clawed its way from mediocre to, what would be above that, tolerable? But tolerable doesn’t make it worth my time. I find the premise boring and the characters to be uninteresting or poorly drawn. There have been some fun plot twists and a few cool scenes, but overall it has failed to engage me. And, seriously Joss, finding new excuses every week to have hot girls dressed in nothing doesn’t help the feminist cred.

Maybe if this week they kill off three quarters of the cast and shift the focus of the series I might stick around. But I imagine that won’t happen.

It’s odd. For the first time in a long time there won’t be any geeky television for me to watch. Battlestar is done. Terminator may not be back. Everything else is either terrible, didn’t catch my interest, or I missed out on the beginning. All I have is a sitcom or two and a cop show, and I’d probably be okay with losing those (except 30 Rock, that show is too good to end). Very odd situation to find myself in. There’s pretty much always been something on or something to look forward to.

Well, there is this. But I don’t want to get my hopes up too early.

3 thoughts on “Wearing pants doesn’t make you weak”

  1. SCC ends on a cliffhanger? I wouldn’t be surprised except that I read an article about it on EW that said the finalie was “closure filled.” **sighs** If it’s a cliffhanger and it’s cancelled, should I even bother to watch when it comes out on DVD? I wish I could have watched in real time — too bad it was put on Mondays at the beginning of the year. Just couldn’t give up Chuck or HIMYM for it.

    Speaking of Chuck and your lack of geeky TV, you really should watch Chuck! It’s not as geeky as, say, BSG, but it’s definitely on that side of the fence. Chuck himself is a big geek, and the sci-fi references abound. And the show is a combination of spy/action and comedy with some sci-fi elements (mostly fancy technology) thrown in.

    If you ever want to give Chuck a chance, I have season 1 on DVD and will let you borrow. 🙂 And I think you can watch all of season 2 on hulu or NBC.com or somewhere. So I’ve been told anyway.

  2. If EW said there was closure then that’s a big case of journalism fail. Either that or I missed the actual finale. They really didn’t answer any of the questions that the season posed. And the end of the episode puts each of the characters in a completely different situation.

    I’d still recommend it, just be prepared for the crushing fury of a thousand exploding suns when you get to the end. But our kind is used to that by now. 😛

    Chuck does look like fun, but I missed it when it started and just never have gotten around to it.

Comments are closed.