Weary

Wanna bet?

Lest you think I was murdered at the horror festival last weekend, I do indeed still function!

I finished reading Mainspring, by Jay Lake. It’s pretty okay. It’s a fast read, and I enjoyed it well enough, but I felt like there wasn’t quite enough there for me to really sink my teeth into. The setting holds a lot of promise but the story didn’t end up exploring the parts of it that I was most intrigued to see. The villain, insofar as there was one, wasn’t particularly developed, either.

Anyway, if I can find it I’ve got a list of books I’ve been meaning to read. Onward!

Work should be returning more or less to normalcy next week, so I’m hoping to get back to writing. I have several stories that have been bugging me to be written, including one that is an expansion of the universe I created in “With the Band.”

In other news, my wife has fallen victim to the Twilight craze. I let her know that was like punching Shakespeare in the balls, but my anguish has gone ignored.

And just because it’s been a bright spot in my otherwise dreary week, I present the latest issue of Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie’s Phonogram.

Phonogram, Issue 5