Wonderous

I finally got around to watching the animated Wonder Woman DC produced this year.

Wonder Woman (2009)

I thought it was pretty great. The voice cast is excellent – Keri Russell, Nathan Fillion, and Alfred Molina lead, with smaller roles for the likes of Rosario Dawson, Oliver Platt, and Virginia Madsen (oh, and now I see it also featured Beth from NewsRadio – I’ve always liked her). It’s a solid telling of Diana’s origin story that doesn’t pull any punches (though there’s a suspicious lack of blood on the swords – I guess decapitating someone is okay unless there’s actually blood, then look out!). My only complaint would be the same as with Justice League: New Frontier, that it needed another twenty minutes or so for some character development.

On a personal level, I thought it was awesome that they didn’t give Wonder Woman the ability to fly on her own. She had to use the old invisible jet to get around (actually, I always thought a jet would be the best way to get around even if you can fly – I imagine it would only take one mid-flight bug swallowing to send you scrambling to your local superhero vehicle dealer). As I watched her kicking the crap out of a monster in a dark New York alley, I couldn’t help but think of my Scarlet Ranger (whose origin is rooted in Greek mythology as well). In the Justice League animated series I never quite connected the two, as Wonder Woman was always flying around, but here I really saw it. Really, Kelly and Diana are nothing alike in terms of personality, and Diana is a far more skilled combatant, but it was fun to to see how Kelly might look in battle.

It put me in the mood to write her again, so we’ll see what comes of that.

2 thoughts on “Wonderous”

  1. I thought it was pretty solid, if a bit underachieving. Nathan Fillion’s guy was the best part. The final battle felt a bit flat to me. Perhaps because I never cared about Wonder Woman outside of the JLU cartoon and had no attachments to the source material beyond “I love everything Timm does.” It just seemed very… paint-by-numbers. No twists, nothing new to spice it up at any point. My favorite part was Nathan Fillion confessing the emptiness of his womanizing lifestyle, then finds that he stuck his foot through her lasso. Ha!
    Have you seen the Batman/Superman Public Enemies yet? I thought that was a lot better. But I just like those characters more, probably.

  2. No, you’re right. There were no surprises, but I let it slide given that I already know the material and it’s just an origin story.

    Haven’t gotten to see Public Enemies, or Green Lantern yet, either.

Comments are closed.