De-Stacked

From the bottom:

Daredevil: Shadowland – Not bad. I’ve never been as big a fan of the ninja Daredevil stories as I am of the lawyer Daredevil stories. The annoying thing about this story was how it’s broken up across about four trades, only two of which I’ve got (and intend to get). There are several plot threads that begin in these, but are finished in the books I don’t have. Looking forward to what’s coming up for Matt Murdock next. He’s always at his best when his life is at its low points.

The Flash: Dastardly Death of the Rogues – Greatness. Really fun story with some time traveling versions of the Rogues-turned-heroes from the future. The Rogues are some of  comicdom’s most entertaining (and most underrated) villains, especially in Geoff Johns’s hands. Manapul’s art gets an 11 out of 10. I guess this is my first full, proper Barry Allen story, and he’s pretty great. It’s a Flash fact!

Morning Glories, vol. 1 – I nabbed this on impulse because it was cheap on pre-order and I had heard it was good. A story about a group of smart teens recruited for a prep school where…well, all is not as it seems. Unless all seems really fucked up and horrific. Then I guess it is exactly what it seems. I don’t even know how to describe it further. Really good read, and I’ll be reading more.

I’m in the middle of each of the three novels.

Lois McMaster Bujold’s The Sharing Knife sucked me in the most, but it’s kind of more romancey than I’m normally into. Still, it’s very well written and I like the setting, so I’ll have no problem finishing. I’ll have to seek out some of Bujold’s science fiction.

I kind of stalled in David Drake’s With the Lightnings. I liked the sound of it, but I’ve gotten so far in with nothing really happening yet, which isn’t what I was expecting at all. For something one of the cover blurbs described as a space opera, there’s so far been very little action.

Phillip K. Dick’s We Can Build You is quite funny. Not far enough in yet to offer more than that.

I was working on an article for the Flash Fiction Chronicles about localized apocalypses in fantasy and science fiction – then a localized apocalypse actually happened in Japan and I haven’t had the heart to return to the topic.