Best in Life

My traitorous wife went to see Rise of the Planet of the Apes without me. She reports satisfaction with the proceedings. I hear from other trusted sources that the new Conan fares not nearly so well, which, while not unexpected, makes me sad.

At the suggestion of a friend, I have read House of Suns, by Alistair Reynolds. It’s good. There are a lot of big, high-concept science fiction ideas going on there, rendered in a fun fashion. I loved the ending. I thought the narrative structure would be awkward at first, being told in first person from two different characters, but it worked out well. If I have a complaint, it’s that there are too many scenes of people sitting around hashing out every potential option, outcome, motivation, and course of action.

Yes, we are aware that if they wanted to they could have killed you already.

But I enjoyed it nonetheless.

I have now started in on one of Lois McMaster Bujold’s space opera books, and am chugging through it at break-neck speeds. Fantastic. Fun. Recommended. Though maybe you should research and see which one to start out with first. I picked one at random and for all I know I’m spoiling the rest for myself. Actually, a glance at the reviews there on Amazon suggests that this actually is a good place to start.

I am working on a couple of stories. I seem fascinated with compressing epics into something bite-sized. Epic flash. Epic burst? I dunno. I’ll see if it works. I still have a couple of stories out for consideration, and will report back their failures in due time.