Barsoom!

Normally I am stricken with an inability to remember Edgar Rice Burroughs’s name whenever I am in a bookstore or library, but I finally remembered. While selling some useless old textbooks yesterday I came across this little gem of an edition and snagged it. How can you not love that cover?

I’ve gotten quite a few books over the past few months. I’ll report in my findings as I chew through them. I spent all day Saturday building several new sets of bookshelves for our living room. Then filling them. It looks lovely. Then we lugged the loveseat in front so the baby can’t get at them. You can take my word for it though, they look nice.

In awesome news, I discovered over the weekend that my Mercier’s Flight has received an Honorable Mention over at the Writer’s of the Future Contest. Link when they’ve posted it. It’s the furthest a story of mine has gotten over there (though it’s probably the only one that’s deserved it) and I’m pretty excited. I’ve resumed submitting the story to markets in the hopes that it’ll sell somewhere so you guys can read it.