Turtle Power

So, the tubes are afire with news of the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie.

I am a HUGE Turtles fan. I was a kid when they hit the big time, the target demographic for the cartoon series. Later I got the now-rare collections of the original comics and loved them even more, because the comics were actually even more bizarre and fun than the cartoons. I played all the video games. I enjoyed the original movie and I think it holds up decently despite the cheese. I had a poster of them on my wall well into my 20s and still have that poster somewhere, because it’s totally badass. I have one of the totally awesome Leonardo figures they came out with a couple years ago. Of the various franchises I grew up with (GiJoe, Transformers, etc.), the Turtles are probably my most beloved.

People are outraged because of potential changes to the Turtles’ origin story. Well, I, for one, do not care. They can change all they want.

Because it’s being made by Michael Bay, and the film is going to be a giant pile of shit no matter what. There is nothing in his history of film that tells me otherwise. His Transformers weren’t even recognizable, much less watchable.

I am already tired of the internet machine and all the “debates” that are going to be raging from now until after the movie comes out. Uh. Just sick of it. We all need to just agree it’s going to be horrible now and then completely ignore it from here on out.

Please? Internet? Just this once?

6 thoughts on “Turtle Power”

  1. Waiting for the legions of nerds who will proclaim that this is ruining (or, more charming still, raping) their childhood.

  2. Quote from former TMNT movie voice actor Robbie Riss, “I know believing in mutated talking turtles is kinda silly to begin with but am I supposed to be led to believe there are ninjas from another planet? The rape of our childhood memories continues.”

    From this article about how Michael Bay says everyone just needs to chill about his creative choices: http://www.comicsalliance.com/2012/03/20/teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-movie-michael-bay-aliens/#ixzz1ppRiJo9M

    Sigh.

Comments are closed.