Star Cares

I was thoroughly satisfied by Star Trek Into Darkness. It’s not perfect, but I had a blast and it mostly hit all the right emotional beats for me. It’s pretty much impossible to talk about it further without spoiling things for anyone who hasn’t seen it, and what’s the point anyway? I liked it. You might, too! Or you might not! I hear some people liked Prometheus, so all bets are off at this point.

At the very least I think we can agree that Zoe Saldana needs to be speaking more Klingon, amIright?

Speaking of star-based franchise paradigms, I don’t think I’ve ever really talked about Star Wars much here. Like all right-thinking people, I grew up on Star Wars and it influenced me massively. Then the prequels and the over saturation and the 3rd or 15th special editions came out and over the past decade or so I’ve gone from voracious consumer to completely apathetic Star Wars nihilist.

Occasionally I smirk at a Star Wars reference, but that’s about it.

With news that the rights have changed hands and sequels are in the making, I felt the stirrings of the ancient ways, though. Just a little. No more Lucas means fresh creative talent, new editorial, new artistic blood. And this is what Star Wars needs more than anything.

Rather than go on and on about it, I’ll just compile a few bits of art that remind me of how awesome Star Wars can be. Will it be this? Probably not. But it’s nice to dream. This is more about tone and artistic style than a particular story or character. You’ll want to expand these.

I didn't buy it until I saw this.
Jedi Master Luke Skywalker, by Phil Noto
Classic Ralph McQuarrie. Can't beat the original.
Classic Ralph McQuarrie. Can’t beat the original.

 

Unless maybe you're Frank Quitely
Unless maybe you’re Frank Quitely
Funky Beats, by Jim Mahfood
Funky Beats, by Jim Mahfood

 

 

There. Done. I assume someone out there is listening. We’ve laid it out for you.