She’s got jokes

A bit of the old non-genre today! You should head over to Every Day Fiction for an excellent reading of “Monologues” by the (still) incomparable Folly Blaine. (It is entirely possible that I just copy-pasted my last post and changed up the links.) Previous link with a little behind-the-scenes if you missed it before.

I was worried this one wouldn’t work well in audio, but Folly pulls it off, as per standard operating procedure. Any flaws in the work are my own.

Side note: hearing your story read aloud, even by someone else, is exactly like hearing your own voice on an answering machine and is super weird and mildly embarrassing.

In other news – we are about a month or so out from the publication of the next volume of Big Pulp, in which my “Mercier’s Flight” will appear. I’m excited!

Also, I have…I think two stories out looking for homes right now. Hope to have more good news for you guys soon.

Also you should go see Guardians of the Galaxy because it’s great.

That is all.

Wait…

No yeah, that’s it.

Wait, oh! I’ve started using Scrivener lately, as a replacement for Word, and it is pretty damned sweet. It is entirely possible that I have put together a project labeled “Chaykin – novel”.

I have been listening to a lot of Sparks Nevada lately (my wife suggested that Thrilling Adventure Hour is like Prairie Home Companion for nerds and I’ve never been so insulted in my life).